Brightening a dark corner

I really do need to be getting on with the home improvements. I’m bored of thinking about it. I’m bored of writing lists. Doing rather than talking and planning is the order of the day. I still haven’t finished the painting in the bedroom, though most of the hard work is done – I’m just left with the fiddly bits. However, there are other things that need doing in there. I’ve been trying to find new pictures to go on the walls but I can’t seem to find anything I like – not on a small budget anyway! Last night I did this…

001

I had the frame in a different room with different pictures in it that I had got bored of. Last year I bought a pack of stamps from WH Smith, all bearing pictures of butterflies. I taped black card to the back of the mount and then stuck the stamps on using pritt stick. It took about, oh I don’t know, 10 minutes? Okay, it’s not exactly a work of art but I like it. I love stamps. Not in a collecting/researching sort of way – just generally. Good ones are, actually, like tiny works of art. And stamps are sort of facinating when you think about them – the possibilities of a stamp! I’m aware I’m getting into geek territory here…

Anyway, I’ve managed to do something with a corner of the bedroom without going out and buying anything I didn’t already have. Now I just need to get on with the rest of the room…

Categories: home improvements, Make do | Tags: | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Brightening a dark corner

  1. I like it!

  2. Frugal Undergrad

    It looks fantastic. Nice & simple.

  3. Emma-Jayne

    I love what you did with the stamps, great idea.

  4. thefrenchchick

    I’d say that it is a work of art. Very artsy and a great way to use the stamps.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

