The end of the soap rations (and other adventures in shopping)

Yup – I finally used up the last of my blinkin’ soaps! In case you don’t remember what I’m talking about, I had a big clear out of my bathroom back in March and realised I had millions of soaps which I hadn’t used because I prefer shower gel. Being shoestringish, I realised this was clearly ridiculous and vowed I would buy no more shower gels until I had used it all up. Earlier this week the last bar of soap was finished and I skipped into Boots to pick up supplies. I got a great deal on Imperial Leather shower gels – 4 for £3! I chose 4 different ones (including a ‘man’ one for Husband). Who would’ve thought shower gel could be so exciting? I’ll never take it for granted again…and I probably won’t buy any soap for about 10 years or so.

On the shopping theme, I’ve also picked up a couple of things for the house. We have a fund (put back last year) for ‘finishing’ the house which I’ve been very slack about of late. I’ve been looking for a new bedroom mirror for about a year but all of the ones I’d seen and liked seemed to start at about £70. A local shop is having a closing down sale (they’ve been ‘closing down’ for about a year now) and everything is half price. I found a great mirror reduced to £20 and it is exactly the right size and style. I’ll need to paint the frame white but other than that it is perfect (I’ll post some photos when I actually get around to doing it). I also got one of those wire thingies that you can prop photos and postcards up in. I don’t know what they are actually called – you’d know what I mean if you saw it. Again, once it is in situ I’ll take a photo. It was reduced to £8 and will hang in an awkward space in the second bedroom that I never know quite what to do with.

I really do need to get on with these home improvements. I’m fed up with sitting in each room thinking we need to do this and we need to do that. If I just got on and did it all I could think more important thoughts. Like what am I going to eat and whether I should have a snooze or read a book…

Earlier this month I ended up cancelling three days holiday because I had too much on at work. I’ve rolled this over into September, shifted two other dates and – hey presto – I get a week off! This will be a week at home. Husband is working so it will just be me pottering around doing whatever I fancy. I’m really looking forward to it. I don’t have particularly grand plans. I’m going to work on my creative writing project, hopefully do a bit of DIY, do some bass practice, stay up late and watch all of my favourite films. It’s going to be great!

Categories: Ramblings | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “The end of the soap rations (and other adventures in shopping)

  1. god I would LOVE a week to sort the house! relish it!

  2. Can’t wait to see photos of the mirror! Enjoy your week at home. 🙂

  3. shoestringalley

    Thanks! I just need to get on with it all now…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

