Food diary: Day 1

Following yesterdays post, Mo asked how I managed to get the food shop down to an average of £30 per week for both Husband and I (see the comments section of yesterdays post – I had quite a burble about it). Other than the ways I listed I’m not exactly sure so I’ve decided to keep a food diary for a week or so to see exactly what we’re getting out of our food budget!

BREAKFAST: Bran flakes with semi-skimmed milk plus a few sultanas thrown in and a cuppa. I tend to buy a box of plain (supermarket own-brand) bran flakes and add my own sultanas as it is much cheaper than buying a packet with them already added.

PACKED LUNCH: Tuna sandwich, a banana, 3 apples and a nectarine (also someone donated a tub of jelly beans to the office so I had quite a few of those as well!). Tea, coffee and mineral water are provided free at work so I don’t need to take in or go out and buy any drinks during the day.

DINNER: Mackerell (out of the freezer – I bought this on offer for £2.50 in the supermarket last month), carrots, broccoli and small jacket potatoes with butter.

If we’re feeling munchy later on we might have a slice of toast or some melon. Or both!

Categories: Frugal food | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Food diary: Day 1

  1. Frugal Trenches

    That’s how I did it, writing down what I ate was such a good way to see where I was going wrong. Good Luck!!

  2. Frugal Undergrad

    Oh thanks for this, I always like to see exactly how people eat on a low food budget (yours is incredible, by the way!).

  3. shoestringalley

    Thanks! If anyone wants to leave any of their own ideas that I could try out, that would be great too.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

