Revving up for August

It’s amazing how quickly things can unravel, isn’t it? The severe toothache and lack of sleep have rendered me fairly useless for the past few weeks; the house has slowly become a bomb site needing more than a surface clean/tidy-up, I haven’t been cooking so things have gone to waste, Husband has been in charge of the shopping and went overbudget (not by a lot but still) and I haven’t really kept up with watching the pennies. On top of random purchases I’ve had to pay for antibiotics and a huge and frightening amount of painkillers which weren’t exactly in the budget (I’m into my second day of not having to take any painkillers by the way. Sod’s law, a completely different filling fell out earlier but it doesn’t hurt and I’ve got a follow-up appointment at the dentists next week so it should be sorted quickly).

So now I need to get back on top of things. I need to get back into the habit of getting up early and getting the housework out of the way for a start. I’d really like to get to the point where I don’t need to do the big Friday evening tidy-up apart from zipping around with the hoover. I bloody hate housework so if I can get it done without having to spend more than a few minutes on it at a time that would be great! Hmmm…what else? I need to sort my money out. Early next week I should be able to transfer the last of the future family fund out of my current account and then switch the whole lot into my ISA. With the money I had saved before March I should be able to max the ISA out for the year. As there are another 8 paydays between now and the end of the financial year I also need to look at finding a regular savings account that pays better interest than my current one. Something with easy access. Suggestions anyone?

Since I am going to try to write 20,000 words for my creative writing project in August I thought that I had better tot up my current word count. I’m on 15,374 words so I need to get to 35,374 by the end of the month.

I’m off to do the big monthly food shop now. By the way, I finally got a response out of Tesco. Did I blog about this already? I can’t remember. There was a lot of going back and forth and Tesco being generally useless. Eventually they sent me a moneycard with £20 to spend at Tesco. I don’t mind this not being a cash refund – I just wanted £20 back for my food budget! I’ll update this post later on and tell you how I got on.

Categories: Getting organised | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Revving up for August

  1. hollyjune

    I’m really excited about this project you’ve got going on, can’t wait to hear more about it!

  2. whatshappeningatmyhouse

    The best laid plans and all that, eh? Glad to hear the toothache is on the mend. You’ve done so well over the last few months with your goals, so don’t beat yourself up unnecessarily.

    Your creative writing project sounds interesting – look forward to hearing more about it ….

  3. shoestringalley

    Thanks you two…I’ll keep you updated with my progress!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

