Making space

Had another go at a bit of decluttering last night in the much feared second bedroom (feared because the room is very small and very cluttered). I have had a couple of goes at it over the last few months; I’ve tidied up all of the paperwork and put it in folders on the bookcase, I’ve thrown out various bits of junk and I’ve got rid of a lot of books. However, it is still very much a work in progress – spare rooms are a magnet for junk and clutter.

I used to spend a lot of time in this room as, firstly, it was where the computer lived and secondly because it was where I did my all of my studying (I did my degree part time over 6 years alongside my job). There isn’t much in there; a built-in wardobe, a futon sofa bed, a small bookcase, some book shelves, a 2 drawer filing cabinet, a chair and a tatty but very useful old bureau. The room has largely been abandoned as I finished my degree in May last year and then the PC died to be replaced by a laptop so we didn’t need to go in there to use the internet. However, I have been hankering after the space – particularly after reading Virginia Woolf’s A Room of One’s Own

Last night, I fished out the huge tangle of leads behind the bureau and finally removed the broken printer, the two PC speakers, the keyboard and the mouse. This left the top of the bureau completely clear for the first time since we got a computer. The difference is amazing – technology is sometimes very ugly! And so I am beginning to get my desk back which should be handy as I have a few projects in mind.

It wasn’t a ‘proper’ declutter as I threw a lot of the junk that I don’t know where to home into the filing cabinet and also into a plastic container on the shelf. I’ll probably have a bigger purge when I decide what colour to repaint it. I’ve been thinking of a soft grey-blue but I’m not sure of the exact shade. I don’t want to make it look cold and uninviting. Until I paint the walls and the furniture I can’t replace the carpet, which has been attacked by moths. However, I’ve made enough of a start that I can start to use the room again and it looks better already!

Tooth update: Am still in agony. The denitist is mystified. The pain wakes me up at least once a night – I can’t work out exactly where it is coming from. I have mostly worked half days this week as I’ve either been at the dentist having things done or at home in bed trying to catch up on sleep. Beginning to wonder if we’ll ever figure it out…

Categories: Decluttering | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Making space

  1. whatshappeningatmyhouse

    Oooh, poor you. NOthing worse than a nagging tooth. I once had toothache that was worse than childbirth. Hope it gets sorted soon.

  2. Check to make sure you don’t have an ear infection, sometimes they masquerade as tooth or jaw problems and vice versa.

  3. Well done on your clear out! That is the problem with technology, wires and leads!!

    Yes try going to the doctors as it could be an ear problem.

    Hope you have a good weekend, love missy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

