Topsy Turvy

Everything has gone a bit topsy turvy over the past couple of weeks and most of my plans have been put on hold. Why? Blinkin’ toothache. Yup, the same tooth that was causing problems a couple of months back. I’ve had a lot of dental work over the years and none of it frightens me…except getting a tooth pulled out. I had to have one pulled out due to overcrowding 14 years ago. It did not go well. But it looks like I’m out of other options so I need to make an emergency appointment for tomorrow. I haven’t had a full night sleep since…? It can’t be good to keep taking the amount of strong painkillers that I’ve been getting through and they aren’t even really working now anyway. Action must be taken! So, on the shoestring plans front, not much has been happenening at all. Hopefully I’ll be back on form after seeing the dentist again…

Categories: Ramblings | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Topsy Turvy

  1. I had to have a tooth out in the end, it had been flaring up over the course of 2 years. The dentist once tried to give me root canal on that tooth and midway through, I started screaming! They couldn’t understand this as she had done 2 canals and we have 3 and she had just started on the 3rd, but I could feel it, so she stopped and plugged the tooth. It was always getting infected and you can tell if it is infection as the tooth begins to feel slightly loose if you push it hard, so I was on antibiotics every few months, until in the end I gave in and had it out. I never once took painkillers, they don’t work for dental pain, only antibiotics do the trick – trust me, and yours sounds to me like repeated infection. You should have gone by now in case of abcess – u naughty girl!

    • shoestringalley

      Oh, I’ve been going in! It isn’t infected. Apparently I’ve got a crack running down the side of my tooth that goes right down into the nerve cavity. Last week the dentist drilled into the tooth and put something inside to try and kill the nerve but he told me that if it hadn’t settled down in a couple of days it would have to come out 😦 . Glad to hear that having yours pulled out stopped the pain. It gives me hope! I’ll let you know how I get on…

  2. I hope it all goes well – I’ll be thinking of you. I just LOATHE going to the dentist and always put it off until I’m in screaming agony.

    • shoestringalley

      Thanks – all good karma thoughts will be gratefully recieved!! I actually love my dentist – he is very gentle and kind, so I don’t usually mind going to see him. But having a tooth pulled? Arrrggghhhhhhh!!!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

