Day 98: Making a meal of it

I can’t believe it’s nearly been 100 days- where has the time gone?!

Husband has offered to do the food shop tomorrow as I really, really, really wasn’t in the mood this evening. In fact, Husband used to do the food shop every week until I started the Shoestring challenge early this year. I took over as I wanted to see how far I could get the budget down. I’m very slightly nervous about not doing it this week. Although I’ll write a list, I also know that my Husband is, er, fond of food. As in likes to buy a lot of extras. Like trifle. Cakes. Chinese chicken from the hot meat counter. We’ll see what happens. Maybe it won’t be that bad..!

My exercise today was a vigourous hour of housework (and yes, I definitely do count this as exercise). Had my usual breakfast and then went to work where I had 3 nectarines, 2 bananas, 1 apple and five ryvittas with low fat soft cheese and sliced cucmber. I also had a couple of square’s of Husband’s chocolate bar when I got home. I’m not sure what I’ll be having for dinner. I suspect it will be an odd assortment of leftovers! But at least I didn’t spend money on any extra food again today.

This evening I made a meal plan for the week:

  • Saturday: going to the cinema and having take-out (yes, naughty, but it is the weekend and I am making sure I plan around it)
  • Sunday: Lamb, mashed potato and some kind of green veg with mint gravy
  • Monday: Fishcakes and salad
  • Tuesday: Jacket potatoes with either beans and cheese or tuna mayo
  • Wednesday: going to my parent’s for dinner
  • Thursday: Spaghetti bolognese

A lot of this will come out of the freezer so my shopping list only needs to contain:

  • 4 pints semi-skimmed milk
  • 10 apples
  • bananas
  • nectarines
  • melon
  • 2 little gem lettuces
  • piccolo tomatoes
  • 1 avocado
  • bag of spuds
  • broccoli
  • wholemeal pitta breads
  • own-brand bathroom cleaner

I’ll let you know how we get on!

From the challenge-a-day list:

  • Planning: week long meal plan using things up from the freezer
Categories: Ramblings | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 98: Making a meal of it

  1. LOL about you being nervous about your husband doing the shop. It’s the same way at my house, but with cooking. If I want the meals to be *healthy*, then I have to do all the cooking. When I’m in a “who cares?!” mood, I’ll ask DH to be in charge of dinner.

    Is today the 100th day? (July 5th?)

  2. thefrenchchick

    Awesome job with the challenge! You’ve done so many good things with it. Congrats on the decluttering too. Mine is still hit and miss, but I did send a box and a plastic tote full of stuff off on the 2nd. I just can’t get DH to clean his section of the closet.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

