Day 94: Music, money and more painting

Managed to do a little bit more painting this evening – just going around the room finishing the very tops of the walls where they meet the ceiling. I’ve washed the brush out so I can do the last little bits of the ceiling maybe tomorrow. I figure if I keep doing a little bit every day it will be finished eventually!

My big monthly shop went quite well on Friday – my lowest yet this year at just under £55. Admittedly I had a clubcard voucher for £7.50 but I used that to get some treats (primarily a tub of Ben and Jerry’s Half Baked ice cream…it was good). Pay-wise it’s another wretched 5 week month. I keep trying not to think how much extra I would have been able to save if I didn’t have to make it stretch to another weeks worth of food, petrol and spending money.

On the subject of budgets, I’m trying out managing my money differently this month. I find that if I do the same thing the same way for very long I become complacent or it somehow just doesn’t work as well. So this month I am not taking all of my food and spending money out in cash – I’m using my debit card. I think I will still take cash out for some of my spending money but only here and there and not all in one go. I’m still budgeting £20 a week spending money. I have allocated £175 for food shopping and so I have £120 left to last the remaining four food shops. As the large monthly shop came in so low I have (what feels like a massive) £30 a week. Brilliant! In terms of my spending money I shall be interested to see if I spend less. In addition to my weekly spending budget I’ve treated myself to two CDs this month. This is the first music I have bought this year. I am really looking forward to that Amazon parcel arriving!

From the challenge-a-day list:

  • Home Improvements: a bit more painting
  • Financial management: making a change to the way I spend to keep me focused
Categories: home improvements, Money Management | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 94: Music, money and more painting

  1. apieceofwood

    Five weeks months are so frustring.. it’s the food bill where it hits us hardest, trying to make four weeks money spread over five.

    Well done on your challenge – you are oh so neary there!

  2. shoestringalley

    Less than a week!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

