Days 77 & 78: Forget-me-not!

forget-me-not

You’ll have to excuse me – I couldn’t resist the pun…or the flower! I love forget-me-nots.

Would you believe I actually forgot that I was going on holiday today when I woke up this morning? And what made me remember? I jumped out of bed, looked down and saw fake tanned legs and painted toenails!

The last 24 hours have been manic. Ended up finishing work late as I was hammering my way through piles of paperwork and last minute instructions and then came home only to be swept up in the whirlwind of packing. I gave up after a couple of hours and had a nice long bath followed by lashings of fake tan (legs only – they need extra help to look the same colour as the rest of me!), eyebrow plucking and nail polishing. I haven’t used nail polish since Christmas and most of it has gone off now. Luckily, Mum gave me a little set of goodies that she got free from Boots which included a lovely pinky-red polish perfect for summer toes. I’ve been saving it and so I was able to give myself a pedicure and polish which cost a pleasantly shoestring £0.

This morning has been equally manic. I managed to finish the last bits of packing and clear up the huge mess that we managed to make last night. I also went to the shops and bought a reduced loaf of bread and a pint of milk. I’ve made us sandwiches to have on the way to the airport using up things from the fridge and I’ve put the rest of the bread and the pint of milk in the freezer. When we get home it will be the middle of the night so I can take the bread and milk out and wake up to breakfast! How organised am I?

Husband has just got home from work and is in the shower – we’ll be off within the hour. Everything is done now so there’s just about enough time for a cup of tea and a mini-read before holiday time officially commences. I’ll be keeping a diary while I’m away so I’ll be able to post on days 79 to 85 when I get back!

From the challenge-a-day list:

  • Making use of what I already have/Doing things for free: Pedicure with brand new free polish!
  • Nifty thrifty: using up what is left in the fridge and freezing the rest of my bargain loaf for later use
Categories: Shoestring Fun | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Days 77 & 78: Forget-me-not!

  1. apieceofwood

    Have a great time!!!!!!!!

  2. Have a brilliant time 🙂

  3. Have a great holiday! Looking forward to lots of posts when you get back!

  4. I hope you have a lovely holiday. Forget-me-nots are my favourite flower, thanks for the pic.

  5. Have a lovely time! We’ll miss you, but won’t forget you.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

