Day 67: Today I have mostly been eating…

I took the same food to work today as yesterday: 2 apples, 1 banana, 1 scone, grapes and melon mixed with plain yoghurt and ryvittas with soft cheese and tomatoes. I also got a peice of my colleague’s birthday cake – yum. I popped into town at lunch time to get some paint charts and nearly caved when I saw a sign for Mr Whippy. I was hot and bothered and I really wanted one – but I didn’t. I remembered that I had been spending all of my general spending/fun money on junk and resisted. Victory!

We had a simple green bean risotto for dinner tonight. From my big monthly shop I used a whole pack of green beans (£1) and an onion (25p) which means each portion cost approx 63p. Obviously I also had to use extra ingredients which either came from the storecupboard or from last months shopping budget: butter, parsley (from my little pot on the window sill), granado padano cheese, risotto rice, olive oil, a stock cube and a slug of vermouth. I’m not counting the cost of these as store cupboard items (like olive oil) ‘have’ to be there (and are kind of hard to cost out per portion!) and using things left from last months shop (like the last of the butter and the parsley) does not have to come out of this months budget. There was enough left over for Husband to have some for lunch tomorrow. For the past couple of days he has been having noodles and sardines. His lunches tend to be slightly, er, unconventional. Basically, left to his own devices he eats like a pregnant woman with strange food cravings. Each to their own…

From the challenge-a-day list:

  • Financial management: moved £100 into my savings account
Categories: Frugal food | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 67: Today I have mostly been eating…

  1. whatshappeningatmyhouse

    Your risotto sounds yummy – I might have to make one tomorrow night now! Your husband’s lunch, on the other hand, sounds quite revolting!!!!

  2. shoestringalley

    Yup, the risotto was great. Would you like Husband’s recipe?!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

