Day 64: An evening on the beach

001 - Copy (3)

I had bran flakes and sultanas for breakfast followed by several lattes as I needed to use up some milk. I wasn’t particularly hungry at lunchtime so I just had a roll with cheese, lettuce and mayo. Then I got on with my cooking for the day. Today I made 6 portions of chicken curry using the following from last night’s shop:

  • 6 chicken breasts – £6.66
  • 4 eating apples – 98p
  • 2 onions – 25p

And also from the storecupboard: 2 chicken stock cubes, sultanas, cornflour, mango chutney, curry powder, sugar, salt and pepper. I don’t cost out things from the ‘storecupboard’ as I mark them as essentials I would have had anyway! This means that each portion of curry cost £1.31, which I think is pretty good for a meal containing meat. We will be having chicken curry for dinner tomorrow night – the other 4 portions are already in the freezer. 

We are having a BBQ on the beach with some friends  this evening. Yesterday I bought 12 pork & apple sausages (£5.18) and 12 white rolls (£1). I also had quite a few potatoes left over from last weeks shop so I made some potato salad using my ‘leftover’ spuds, some mayo, chives, salt and pepper. Next up I fried a few onions (using olive oil, a splash of balsamic vinegar and a pinch of brown sugar) and wrapped them in foil which can be thrown on the BBQ later to warm through. I bought the sausages out of my general spending fund and the rolls, onions and chives (68p) out of my food shopping budget. I split weekend food between the two funds because, if we weren’t eating at home with friends, we would probably be going out for a meal or drinks or the cinema or something that would be costing money. Hence the ‘spend’ is half out of necessity and half is social!

I love being by the sea in the summer. BBQs on the beach (weather permitting of course) is a great way to meet up with people without spending very much. Tonight will cost us a total of £7.23 plus whatever we need to spend on coals. A couple of our friends are providing drinks, some are bringing more food and another is bringing his fishing rod – keep your fingers crossed for freshly caught mackerell on the barbie! As I cleared out the cupboard under the stairs I knew exactly where to find our BBQ kit – decluttering is finally paying off. I have a large plastic bowl for the potato salad, 4 plastic plates and cups and sets of cutlery. I gave them all a good wash as they have been hybernating since last year. I don’t know where the day has gone today. I spent a couple of hours nattering to a friend on the phone (for free!) and then did a spot of cooking. How is it 4pm?! Hope you are all having a good weekend and plenty of sunshine 🙂

From the challenge-a-day list:

  • Planning/Nifty Thrifty: preparing 4 meals for the freezer 
  • Making use of what I already have: getting out the BBQ and picnic set
Categories: Frugal food, Shoestring Fun | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

