Day 63: Part 1 – How I plan my shop

I keep a storecupboard list in my filofax and refer to it once a month when I do my big shop. When I’m planning my shopping list I take my list into the kitchen and see what I need to top up on. My list is quite long but here it is anyway:

Food

  • pasta
  • tinned tuna
  • baked beans
  • tinned, chopped tomatoes
  • olive oil
  • stock cubes
  • garlic
  • onions
  • cous cous
  • soy sauce
  • curry powder
  • tea
  • coffee
  • hot choclate
  • sugar
  • sweeteners
  • balsamic vinegar
  • plain flour
  • self-raising flour
  • squash
  • frozen mixed bag of cauliflower & broccoli
  • frozen peas
  • tinned butterbeans
  • sultanas/raisins
  • cheese
  • butter
  • ryvitta
  • porrige oats
  • tomato puree
  • egg noodles

Non-food items

  • washing up liquid
  • loo roll
  • clothes wash
  • scratchy pads & j-cloths
  • bleach
  • bin liners
  • compostable bin liners
  • bathroom cleaner
  • tin foil
  • greaseproof paper/baking parchment
  • cling film

Everyone’s essentials are different but these are ours! It was really worth sitting down and writing this list as it means I have to apply less brain power when trying to plan the shopping – something I tend to find tedious and annoying.

When I plan my weekly shop I check what I have in my freezer (I make my own ‘ready meals’ to save time during the week) so I can plan what we are going to eat over the coming week and how many meals I need to buy for. I haven’t done much freezing lately so I need to get back on it!

I’ll be back later (or maybe tomorrow morning) after the big shop of the month is completed. As I mentioned a couple of days ago, I am planning to pay a bit more attention to what I’m buying and eating this month after a) wasting money on snack/junk food over the past few weeks and b) feeling pretty crap for doing so…

From the challenge-a-day list:

  • Planning: checking my storecupboard list so I can buy exactly what we need and avoid what we don’t!
Categories: Frugal food, Home Economics | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Day 63: Part 1 – How I plan my shop

  1. Pingback: ‘Spend Less, Save More’ Part 2: Food shopping « Shoestring Alley

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

