Day 45: A moment for reflection

It’s been one of those thinking days. I’ve felt slightly uneasy for a few weeks now and I haven’t been able to put my finger on exactly what is bothering me. Then, when I was catching up on some of my favourite blogs, I noticed a post over at Move To Portugal that hit the nail right on the head. Laura was talking about the work / life balance, feeling distracted at work by thinking about things that need to be done at home and then feeling stressed at home for having been distracted at work. This is exactly what I have been doing and I have been driving myself mad. Work is particularly busy for me at the moment and I really need my focus. After chewing this over for a couple of days I’ve decided that I need to take a slightly different approach to get back on track. Getting up earlier to get annoying household chores out of the way has been working really well for me – I’ve barely noticed the ‘loss’ of time in bed in the morning but I have really noticed the difference in coming home from work with a minimal amount to do before getting on with the evening. So far so good.  Over the years I’ve collected several good books on my industry, with different books covering different aspects of my paarticular job. Generally I find dippng into them every now and then quite inspiring. I’ve decided that I am now going to get up a little bit earlier still so that, once I’ve finished my chores, I can read one of my books for 20 minutes or so while I’m having breakfast to put me in the ‘right’ frame of mind for the day. And, other than taking a break at lunch time to think about and do other things, I am going to make a concerted effort not to get mentally sidetracked from anything but the job in hand. My work is my only source of income so it is very important that I do it well – if I didn’t have it there would be no saving, no anything. Very anti-shoestring!

I’ve also been thinking about the other things distracting me. Working out what you need, what you can do without and all of that malarky makes you think a lot about what you really want to be doing with your time and money. Outside of seeing my friends and family and playing in the band, I love reading, writing, walking, going out, seeing new things and learning more about food and cooking. But it adds up to rather a lot (for me anyway) and I don’t feel like I’m giving any one thing enough attention because I always feel like I ought to be doing things to the house. This is becoming more and more evident as I try to declutter. I keep going to do things and then realising I can’t do that until we’ve done such and such or there isn’t anywhere to put this until we’ve done something else which means we can get a chest of drawers in there or whatever.

Our home is very small (a tiny chunk of a very large building), though it doesn’t feel too cramped as it has two flights of stairs in it which gives the illusion of space. This weekend Husband has just about managed to get our TV wall mounted which means we can get rid of the old, bulky TV unit and gain some floor space. However, just doing something as simple as this has reminded me of how difficult it is to get anything done here. We can’t move the furniture from room to room, there are boxes everywhere, dust, leads, drills – chaos basically. Just from putting the TV on the wall! And then we’ve got to find time to get rid of the TV unit and re-home all of the other things that used to live there. Ugh.

I’ll post more about our plans for the house another day. I am beginning to think they might need to be altered a bit. Yes, there are things that need doing but maybe a few actually don’t and I really don’t want this to be dragging on forever. We’ve lived here for nearly ten years and it seems like it has been an endless cycle of home improvements. So my focus now has to be getting it done and drawing a line under it so I can finally get on with the fun stuff!

From the challenge-a-day list:

  • Making use of what I already have / Planning: putting together a small pile of books to get me motivated in the mornings
  • Home Improvements: making a start on getting the TV on the wall!
Categories: Decluttering, Getting organised, Goals | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 45: A moment for reflection

  1. I think our new motto needs to be ‘one thing at a time’

    I’m taking some of Tony’s advice from the comment section and eliminating things; I’m also trying to only work between 9-6 five days a week. My discipline has been lacking in this area.

    Good luck, shall we both do a follow up post? 🙂

  2. shoestringalley

    Yes, we should! Good luck to you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

