Day 24:Making up

I am a bigger fool than I thought – didn’t end up going to bed until 4am. I don’t know why – there is no satisfactory explanation for this. Hence it has been another somewhat groggy day, though enjoyably lazy. I managed to rouse myself for about 20 minutes tidying up and then flopped back on the sofa. I couldn’t make up my mind what to do for my challenge today and then remembered I’d been meaning to sort out my make-up for ages.

003

It’s amazing how much I’ve hung on to for no good reason. What could I possibly want with dried out mascara? Foundation that turned out to be the wrong colour? Lip gloss that makes my lips go funny? I threw out anything that there was no way I was ever going to use. I have a large make-up box where most of it lives, a large make-up bag that I use every day and a very small bag that goes in my handbag which are all now neatly arranged. I also washed my make-up brushes like a good girl.

Make-up is one of the things I decided to stop buying back in January. I still wear it and I will still replace it when something runs out but I’m not buying anything until I need to. I have a bottle of foundation that has nearly run out and a replacement for it ready and waiting. I have a nearly full pot of powder. I have one mascara wand left which has nearly run out. I have two or three lipsticks left that will need to be replaced before long. And yet I have over 20 eyeshadows! Bizarre. So I won’t be needing to buy any more of those for, I don’t know, a million years?! I mostly wear the same sort of colours every day anyway – pale golds, shimmery beiges and muted pinks. Maybe a bit of silvery-grey, brown or olive green for a change.

I never used to go mad on large purchases. When I’ve bought things like my laptop or digital camera it was always after a lot of research and deliberation and I don’t regret a penny spent on those type of things as I get so much use out of them. But I’m glad I’ve stopped throwing money away on mad stuff like piles of magazines and make-up. It is such a waste when I have so much of it already. Despite this, there was a part of me today that wanted to throw all of it out and start again with a simpler set of things. But I won’t! I’ll use everything up first and then make more thoughtful purchases when things need to be replaced.

By the way, if anyone does want to buy make-up without breaking the bank I can recommend ELF (www.eyeslipsface.co.uk) where everything costs £1.50. I didn’t like the foundation or mascara but found that the make-up brushes and eyeshadow quads are really good and a total bargain. Well worth checking out!

DAILY TRACKING

Not a penny spent

From the challenge-a-day list:

  • Decluttering/Making use of what I have: sorting my make-up supplies!
Categories: Budget beauty, Decluttering | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Day 24:Making up

  1. apieceofwood

    You’re doing really well. I’m enjoying reading your updates!

  2. keep going lady! I recently cleared out my make up and sent a huge parcel to my god daughter and her sisters to play with. I still have LOADS of the stuff though! its crazy. And I dont even wear it every day. not buying any more!

  3. Shoestring,

    I hear you with this! I have make-up and beauty products in abundance – and I am too on the “I’m using it up and not buying anything until it’s used” journey. I sold some bits and bobs at a car boot recently – and people love it! I always keep it nice and clean, and some stuff I have never even used, so everyone’s a winner!

    Loving the blog, keep it up!

  4. I have recently read how you can drop {just a few} drops of water into dried-out mascara, and it will revive it. Obviously, this does NOT work for water-proof mascara, but everything else.

    Cheers!

  5. 4:00am? Dang, that is so late! At least it was a Saturday night! 🙂 I also have purchased some stuff from ELF and they always have super deals if you sign up for their emails.

  6. I find it’s the little ‘I’ll have a treat for myself’ purchases that can really add up over the longer term, especially as item by item they don’t cost very much but they do all add up to quite a bit when looked at over three months or a year. My make up bag could do with a thorough sorting out – gawd knows how old some of the items are!! Especially as I rarely wear make up these days.

  7. Pingback: ‘Spend Less, Save More’ Part 5: Sitting pretty « Shoestring Alley

  8. I have over 30 lipbalms and lipglosses..
    I hate it but I dont know what to do with it all?
    Wear it until its all gone and then only buy one pot of tinted vaseline or something, or chuck it out?
    Many Thanks

    • shoestringalley

      I’d probably pick four different ones, use them up depending on which colour you fancy from day to day, then go back to the stock pile and do the same over and over again until it was all gone! That said, it is probably best to throw out or give away anything you know you aren’t going to use. Once it is all used up, I’d say it is okay to have more than one, but probably more than 4 or 5 is too many! It’s a personal thing though – that’s just what I’d do. For me, the exercise was about stopping wasting money on buying things I already have a lot of and trying to have less ‘stuff’ kicking about and requiring precious storage space. Have fun!

      • shoestringalley

        PS I just noticed you said you hated it. Does that mean you hate them all? Get rid of them if so! Maybe just pick up a couple of replacements that you really like so you enjoy using them every time you pick them up.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

