Day 23: Night owl

Up today in the shoestring kitchen: 4 portions of chicken casserole and 4 portions of bangers, mash & onion gravy. We’re having casserole for dinner tomorrow night so 6 meals for the freezer! I felt ridiculously tired (my own fault – 2am is not an ideal time to go to bed but I’m a night owl) though I still managed to drag myself down to the library to return 3 books and heroically managed not to take out anymore as I still have another two out on loan. I then went for a walk near the cliffs and down country lanes, camera in hand as ever…

051

Tired though I was, it was good to get out in the fresh air and sunshine. Husband was crashed out when I got home (he also stayed up late but, unlike me, had to work a half day) so I curled up on the sofa with a book and a pot of tea for the rest of the afternoon. We’ve just back from an evening with lovely friends and here I am, once again, pottering around at 2.15am. Will I ever learn? I doubt it somehow!

DAILY TRACKING

Takeout and drinks £15.95 – from general spending fund

From the challenge-a-day list:

  • Doing things for free: Going for a walk and taking photos
  • Planning: Making 6 meals to go in the freezer
Categories: Frugal food, Shoestring Fun | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 23: Night owl

  1. I know you make lots of extra meals and then freeze them but what do you store them in?

    Thankyou!

    • shoestringalley

      Usually tupperware-type boxes. I bought a big multi-pack of different sizes from IKEA which were a really good price, but most homeware places sell them. I use old margarine tubs etc for soups. I only tend to use freezer bags when I’m freezing portions of meat or fish. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

