Day 9: Sun, sea and sausages

Did a spot of cooking as usual this morning – sausage casserole with mash and another batch of lasagne. Not feeling particularly inspired, recipe-wise, at the moment so I went with a couple of easy options! When I get time, I’ll go through my recipe books and come up with some fresh ideas. The trouble is, my Saturday cook-up tends to be for freezer friendly things which can be a bit limiting.

034

I went to the library to return two books, intending not to take out any more until I’ve got through the other three library books I have at home, not to mention all of the books people have lent me. Yet I still came out with another two books. Then I went into a charity shop and came out with another book. This is not going to help the decluttering! Couldn’t resist another visit to the antique shop to look at the postcards either. Like last week, I bought one for me and one for my gift box. One reads:

Dear Miss Jones, I am sorry to say I shall not be able to come back till Saturday as I am not so well as I thought. I hope you do not mind because I must have my strength back, to work. I hope you like PB. With love, May.

As I ever I am gripped by this. It was posted in 1907. Confusingly, the mode of address is rather formal (Dear Miss Jones) while the closing is affectionate (with love, May). In my imagination, May is one of a small number of domestic staff in a small to medium size household and she has been staying with relatives while recovering from an illness. Maybe she is actually recovered but wants a mini-holiday before going back to work! Who knows?!

As the sun was really getting into its stride I decided to go for a walk on the beach and over the cliffs…

072

We are staying in this evening as next weekend is going to be hectic (two gigs and a christening). Lovefilm kindly delivered a DVD this morning, the sausage casserole is already made and I have the ingredients to bake a cake so there’ll be no spending this evening at all!

DAILY TRACKING

Book from the charity shop £1 – from general spending fund

Postcards from the antique shop £2 – from general spending fund

From the challenge-a-day list:

  • Free stuff: going to the library & going for a walk
  • Financial management: I made 6 portions of lasagne and 2 portions of sausage casserole to go straight into the freezer (cheaper to cook in batches – and saves time!)
  • Making use of what I already have: I made a good start on my cross-stitch this afternoon
  • Considered spending: bought one of my two books ‘allowed’ this month for just £1
  • Financial management: bought one thing (the postcard) for my gift box
  • Making better use of what I already have: I made a rather feeble start on decluttering my car by clearing out all of the bottles, random packets of now-soft chewing gum, old parking tickets etc. The next phase will involve actual cleaning…
Categories: Frugal food, Shoestring Fun | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 9: Sun, sea and sausages

  1. Seems like a wonderful day to me 🙂

    I did my car yesterday too, now I need to see if I can get it washed today; once he’s out of bed 😉

  2. Firstly I have to ask where you live?! The pictures are so beautiful.
    Thank you also for the lovely comment. I’ve been thinking lots about what my plan of action is, but if all else fails its back to college.

    You sound as bad as me with books, I have so many to read and there are so many I want to read.
    And love postcards, think it’s nicer than getting an email.

  3. shoestringalley

    Laura – yup, as days go it was a pretty good one (the sun always helps!). Hope you managed to get your car done 🙂

    Missy – I live in a small town by the sea in the Westcountry and am determined to make better use of living in a place where other people come for their holidays! I have plenty of countryside and beach at my disposal. Hope your plans are coming on okay 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

