Day 8: Seasons greetings

 

009-copy

My challenge for the day has been to try to learn a bit more about eating seasonal food. The theory is that seasonal produce doesn’t have to travel as far thus the food is fresher and, importantly for those of us on a budget, cheaper. You are also much more likely to be able to buy things grown locally if that is your thing. I’ve had some distinctly tough and dry clementines and satsumas recently. Clearly their time is over for now , though I doubt I’ve ever eaten a locally grown clementine! It makes sense that nature provides us with what we need at different times of year – lots of root vegetables etc in the colder months to stoke up the boiler and lots of fresh salads and juicy fruits to keep us hydrated when it is warm. A great idea all round then. So, armed with a couple of books, I’ve tried to make a list of things to be looking out for the next few times I go shopping. I’ve already mentioned The Thrift Book by India Knight which has a fantastic, easy to follow section on exactly this, as well as French Women For All Seasons by Mireille Guiliano.

Apparently I should be looking out for:

  • celery
  • potatoes
  • radish
  • rhubarb
  • spinach
  • tomatoes
  • watercress
  • peas

April is a funny time in terms of fresh produce, falling right in between traditional winter and summer fayre. It seems that by May a host of other produce will be in season and I’m looking forward to breaking away from the variety of casseroles that have kept us going all winter and trying out some new recipes.

The weekly food shop is done and came in at £22.76 – only £1.76 over budget. I am more than happy with this as I bought extra meat as both mince beef and sausages were on offer. I also bought some soup and a quiche for Husband’s lunches. I would normally make this kind of thing from scratch but I’m trying to plan ahead as I know the next week is going to be really busy and it makes sense to make life a bit easier wherever possible!

DAILY TRACKING

Food shopping £22.76 – from food fund

Bet on Grand National £1 – from general spending fund

From the challenge-a-day list:

  • Financial management: learning about seasonal food to save a few pennies (and be a bit more eco/healthy!)
  • Financial management: Moved £50 into savings account
Categories: Frugal food, Seasonal food | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 8: Seasons greetings

  1. Thank you for that reminder about seasonal food- I have both those books you mentioned and should also keep an eye on what is coming in season (and is hopefully cheap) as the months go by.

  2. shoestringalley

    The books are great, aren’t they? I don’t know why I didn’t think of making more of an effort on this earlier…it only ever seemed to happen by proxy!

  3. Pingback: Seasonal food and clearing the freezer | Shoestring Alley

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

