Cutting it fine…

I managed! Just…

006

  • 2 pints semi-skimmed milk 86p
  • Butter 89p
  • white sliced bread 45p
  • apples £1.30
  • Bananas 97p
  • 4 mushrooms 22p
  • small pot single cream 45p
  • 2 jacket spuds 81p
  • soft cheese with herbs 64p
  • 6 medium free-range eggs £1.36

Total £7.95! Co-op seems to have introduced a new range of own brand products called ‘Simply Value’. The bread and butter both came from this range. I don’t have many supermarket options locally so I’m glad Co-op are jumping on the low cost bandwagon. I live on the outskirts of a small town that has one supermarket – the Co-op. I do my large monthly shop at Tesco which involves a 24 mile round trip. The closest Waitrose (not exactly budget friendly!), Lidl and Morrisons stores are further away still. So, when I am only buying a fairly small quantity of food, I stay as local as possible. Recessionista mentioned some great deals on fruit and veg at Aldi that made me really envious!

Actually I thought the prices were pretty good this time – apart from 81p for two potatoes! I was a bit disappointed not to see very much marked down. It was mostly sandwiches that still seemed ridiculously overpriced. One thing that really helped was the discovery of a pack of bacon in the freezer earlier this evening. If I’d bought that I would definitely have gone over budget. We had some milk left, so I only bought 2 pints. I suspect this means I will need to pick up another pint in the week but I can live with that! So, mission accomplished with 5p to spare. Let’s hope I won’t be cutting it so fine next month!   

PS The couple behind me at the checkout looked at me like I was mental as I was counting out my coins. As I’ve been doing my food shopping in cash, a lot of what was left was in very small change. Have I become an eccentric curiosity with my new spending habits? Do people know what cash looks like anymore, or are they only familiar with the currency of their little plastic chums? Still, I bet their shopping cost more than mine – ha!

Categories: Budgeting, Frugal food | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Cutting it fine…

  1. apieceofwood

    Well done!

    Just to add, you’ve spelt my blog name wrong so the link won’t work!!! Thanks for adding me!

  2. Frugal Trenches

    Well done you!!!

  3. shoestringalley

    Thanks ladies! I’ll be keeping a more careful watch on the weekly shopping next month 🙂

  4. Oooh good job! I’m very impressed.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

