Shoestring Saturday

cous-cousbolognese1

Woke up feeling slightly more philosophical about my food shopping due to the fact that I could start cooking without leaving the house first. I made a large pot of bolognese sauce (8 portions!) from 2 packs of mince, 3 tins of chopped tomatoes, tomato puree, garlic, red pepper, mushrooms, half a red onion, a little bit of courgette and some fresh basil.

Next up, I roasted a red pepper, the rest of the courgette and the other half of the red onion. Once out of the oven, I mixed the veg with some plain cous cous, the juice of half a lemon, a dash of olive oil, a drizzle of honey and some chopped apricots. Finally I made some leek and potato soup and some bread rolls that will do for lunch today and tomorrow.

I felt pretty knackered after that (I tend to bolt straight out of bed and get in the kitchen at the weekends) but I knew the library was closing at 1pm and I had books to take back. I’m glad I made the effort to go as the sun was out, the sky was blue and everyone I passed seemed to be in a good mood as I walked into town. The layout of my local library is, er, a little eccentric, hence today I found a whole new section (very, very small but there none-the-less) that inexplicably combined finance and cookery books, quite seperate from the main cookery and business sections. I found two books, then went and bought my newspaper before trundling home.

And now, thus armed with coffee and cream, a good read and lunch ready-made and waiting for when hunger strikes, I am going to flop on the sofa…

Categories: Frugal food, Recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

