Plans for March

In my bid to stop (quite so much) spending and start saving, I am going to:

  • Cut our regular food shopping budget of £50 to £25 per week. This is going to have to cover all meals for both Husband and I. It might be a bit of a challenge but I am going to give it a go! I am also budgeting £5 per week for non-food items such as tin foil, bin liners etc.
  • Make a weekly meal plan and shopping list and stick to it
  • Reduce my weekly spending money (for going out and buying odds and ends) from £50 to £20 per week, unless we are going out for someone’s birthday or similar. I want to be thrifty but I have no desire to turn into a tight-fisted killjoy
  • Stop buying clothes (at least until my savings are really under way and/or if something wears out or breaks or if I really need something for a very good reason!)
  • Stop buying  jewellery/accessories (ow!) 
  • Stop buying make-up or bathroom products (until I actually run out of something that I need)
  • Stop buying magazines (just one weekend newspaper)
  • Stop buying books until I have read all of the ones I already own that I haven’t read
  • Stop frequenting corner shops – no chocolates, sweets, crisps and all that rubbish, just because I am passing/bored. Farewell Mr Cabury…our relationship was beautiful while it lasted but that time has come for us to go our seperate ways.
  • Start putting back some money for Christmas and holidays each month
  • Stop buying things I already have (sounds obvious but it seems to keep happening)
  • Save all of my Boots Advantage card points for a rainy day
  • Go through all of my paperwork, file it properly and see if I can get any better deals on things I am paying for (like my broadband package)

I am also going to give my home a really good clear-out. I am fed up of never being able to find anything and seem to be constantly surrounded by STUFF. It is everywhere – spewing out of drawers, hiding under the bed and even creeping around in the night, draping itself over things (yes, damp towels, I am talking about you). STUFF MUST GO. Rather a lot of it. Either to car boot sales, charity shops or even landfill sites. But go it must.

I have decided, for now at least, not to give myself a specific target for how much I want to save by the end of the year. If I did, I fear that if it looked like I wasn’t going to achieve it I would get demoralised and give up. Much like eating a chocolate bar when you are dieting and then thinking ‘Sod it, I’ve blown the whole thing now. Might as well have some crisps/pizza/cake’. Instead, I am going to set myself some goals at the beginning of each month (when I have a better idea of what myexpenses are going to be) and see if I can meet them. With that in mind, here are my goals for March:

  1. To save £500 (an optimistic start perhaps – we’ll see how the budget cuts pan out!)
  2. To de-clutter all of the main rooms in my home
  3. To sort through all of my paperwork and file it properly
  4. To start my Christmas fund
  5. To start my holiday fund

Let’s see how it goes…

The blue skies of Spring!

The blue skies of Spring!

Categories: Budgeting, Money Management, Saving | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

